The BWD Tournament Hole of the Week: August 17 – 20, 2017. The 12th at Sedgefield CC, Home of Wyndham Championship.

Tournament: Wyndham Championship – Sedgefield Country Club, Greensboro, NC
Hole: 12th – Par 3, 225 Yards
Architect: Donald Ross – 1926
Kris Spence (restoration) – 2007

Architectural Summary:
The longest par three at Sedgefield CC is the 225 yard 12th hole that will require a precise long iron from Wyndham Championship competitors to set up a reasonable scoring opportunity. From the tee, a premium will be placed on finding the correct quadrant of the two-tiered green complex as three-putts are likely on the large putting surface. Competitors must carry a creek that bisects the downhill hole before leading into a short fairway that will allow run-up shots to the green. Two deep bunkers flank the front portion of the green to the left and right. Players that come up short will likely have their shots propelled down the fairway back towards the creek, leaving a difficult uphill pitch shot. The green slopes from back-to-front and features subtle undulations throughout. The putting surface is an elongated semi-circle shape where the widest portion is at the front measuring 31 yards wide and tapers down over the 57 yard depth of the green. To the rear, an elevated collar may provide a “backstop” for running shots that are hit long or require a challenging up-and-down for any shots that come to rest on the raised slope.

Statistical Analysis:

During the 2016 Wyndham Championship, the 12th hole played to a scoring average of 3.04 (71 Birdies, 305 Pars, 81 Bogeys, and 3 Doubles).

Fun Facts:

  • Last year, 21-year-old South Korean Si Woo Kim won the 77th edition of the Wyndham Championship. Kim became the youngest winner on the PGA Tour since Jordan Spieth first won at the John Deere Classic in 2013. Kim played the 12th hole to two under over the course of the tournament.
  • Sedgefield CC is currently the only Donald Ross designed course hosting a regular event on the PGA Tour.
  • The NCAA’s Atlantic Coast Conference was founded at Sedgefield CC on May 8, 1953. The conference originally consisted of seven universities in the South Atlantic states including Clemson, Duke, Maryland, North Carolina, NC State, South Carolina, Virginia, and Wake Forest.